Arvada Fire Protection District

Written on 07/21/2020
Kevin Marples

In general terms the Arvada Fire Protection District is a fire protection special tax district organized in May of 1949 under Title 32 of the Colorado Revised Statutes and provides fire protection and emergency medical services to its community.  The District’s service area encompasses portions of the cities of Arvada and Wheat Ridge as well as areas of unincorporated Jefferson County.   

We proudly serve our citizens and each other with dedication, integrity, dependability, courage and respect.

Arvada Fire currently maintains 8 active fire stations throughout approximately 43 square miles in the City of Arvada, the northern portion of the City of Wheat Ridge and portions of unincorporated Jefferson County.  There are nearly 200 employees who serve approximately 133,000 citizens.  

Arvada Fire provides a wide range of emergency response programs including:

  • emergency medical services
  • fire suppression
  • hazardous materials
  • technical rescue
  • water and ice rescue
  • wildland response

Additionally, Arvada Fire provides a wide array of community risk reduction programs including:

  • blood pressure and blood sugar checks
  • business inspections
  • child passenger safety inspections
  • citizen fire academy and youth fire academy
  • community visits and presentations
  • fall prevention
  • home safety inspections
  • plan review
  • school visits and presentations

Learn More